Anantha P. Chandrakasan — the Joseph F. and Nancy P. Keithley Professor of Electrical Engineering at MIT and head of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) — is the 2013 recipient of the IEEE Donald O. Pederson Award in Solid-State Circuits. He was cited in the award for “pioneering techniques in low-power digital and analog CMOS design.”

The Solid-State Circuits Award, inaugurated in 1987, is the most prestigious IEEE award in the field of semiconductor circuits. The award was renamed in 2005 to honor Professor Donald O. Pederson, who was instrumental in establishing the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society and the IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits (JSSC), considered the leading journal in the integrated circuit design field. The award is given for outstanding contributions to solid-state circuits, as exemplified by benefit to society, enhancement to technology and professional leadership.

Read the full article »